Are the Kylie lip kits worth the hype?

Hey peeps,


So I’ve had in my possession, 3 Kylie lip kits for a while now and I can now finally give you my honest opinion on them. Now I’m a massive fan of Kylie’s and was super excited when she originally launched her lip kits. But getting my hands on them were like hunting for fairies! After about 7 months of trying I finally got 2, then added a 3rd. 

I really wanted to put them to the test and put them through hard conditions. So over a week I really tested each one out so I could give you a good review on them. As let’s face it for us Living in the UK it isn’t cheap to get our hands on…. So are they worth it? 


Here’s what the Kylie site had to say about them:

The lip kits were created to be your secret weapon to create the perfect Kylie lip. Each lip kit comes with a matte liquid lipstick and its matching lip liner. This ultra long wearing lip liner has a creamy texture that glides across the lips for a very easy and comfortable application. The lip liner sharpens easily in most standard sized sharpeners – just make sure your sharpener isn’t dull. 

The liquid matte lipstick has high intensity pigment for an instant matte lip. The extremely long wearing lipstick contains moisturing ingredients for a comfortable, emollient and silky feel that does not dry your lips out. 

Here’s what I think

Firstly I’ll show you some swatches of them wet and dry.

Above is them once dried and below is them once first applied. 


As I said I wanted to really test them out so on the first day I wore one to Legoland, second day was a 13 hour shift and third day was to a festival/party. I’ll show you some pictures but first let go over what the Kylie website said and my thoughts. 

I naturally have big lips so I wasn’t looking to create bigger looking lips. So this is some I may test out on my daughter? Is the lip liner as creamy as they say? YES! So so creamy and definitely comfortable to apply, there was no dragging. On all the 3 I have they were all equally creamy to apply. Do they sharpen easily? I have a bog standard cheap one…. And they sharpened like a dream, so effortless. Over all I’m so happy with these lip liners they are long wearing for sure, so that would be the only reason I would maybe pick these (to buy separate, if you can). But as for there creaminess, there are high street brands that are creamy too. 


Now for the liquid lipstick, let me just start with YASSSSSSSS! These are everything you look for in a liquid lipstick. They do everything they say they’re meant to do. Very long wearing and super moisturing, my lips never felt or looked dry. The only one that I found I had to do a couple of layers of was Dolce K, as on first application the pigment wasn’t great (as you can see in swatches). I didn’t have to reapply at all through my day with any of them. The only little wear you could see was in my inner lip a little where I’d been eating. I love the scent of then too! 

Over all I think if you want to treat yourself then go and buy these for sure. They are super long wearing, creamy, the colours are beautiful and they suit everyone. As each lip kit was $29.00 plus $14 shipping plus I got a £12 customs charge. But I will say there are high street dupes if you want a long lasting liquid lipstick. If you’d like to see a blog on dupes comment below.

They didn’t come off through heat, sweat, eating, drinking, kissing and my nerve rubbing of my lips. By the end of each day they still looked good only a little fading…… Barr on Mary Jo K I forgot to take it off at the end of our festival outing and I woke up with perfect red lips haha WINNING! These are definitely better than high street ones in their lasting ability and moisturing properties. I am addicted to them and have stupidly order a few more…. Whoops! You can order them via www.kyliecosmetics.com but you have to be hot on the press to nab yourself some. I follow her on social media to get a heads up on when she restocks. 

I’ll put some pics below of my results when them. 


Above Poise K at the start of the day. Below Poise K at the end of our awesome day at Legoland 



Above Dolce K at the start of my shift then below at the end of my shift. 



Above is Mary Jo K at the start of my day before work and festival. Below is after work getting changed for festival. Didn’t need to reapply


Then below is before it started getting dark and let’s face it after a few ciders I didn’t take any other pics. 


Xx

Leave a Reply

